Introducing… Tarot Tuesdays

A weekly Tarot reflection space

Amanda Kay Oaks
4 min readSep 6, 2022
Photo by Alina Vilchenko (via Pexels)

(This post originally appeared on my self-care blog, Running Into Joy. I’m sharing it here as well because I think some of my wonderful writer friends and readers might enjoy a little dedicated tarot time.)

Lately, I’ve been leaning back into one of my favorite self-care and reflection practices of pulling a tarot card every morning. As I’ve gotten back into this habit, I’ve felt drawn to the idea of including some tarot content on my blog. While I occasionally write about my love for tarot when it comes up in my reading life over at Your Book Friend, I don’t have a space for writing about what tarot means to me as a form of self reflection.

I also don’t have a space to share tarot readings, which is the whole reason I originally learned to read tarot. I’ve written before about how I picked up the cards in order to have something to do at larger group gatherings, a sneaky and clever way of making myself seem more interesting while simultaneously tricking people into the one-on-one conversations I prefer.

Whether I’m reading for myself or someone else, tarot is a wonderful way of bypassing the surface level and digging deeper. When I’m reading for someone else, we often talk about their deepest hopes, fears, and challenges as I interpret the cards and they share what…

--

--

Amanda Kay Oaks

Pittsburgh-based writer & wearer of many metaphorical hats. Making words about books, pop culture, witchery, health, travel, and more! She/her.